Learning Experience

One of my new projects has me very excited because I’m doing something I’ve never done before.

Sprites!

Well, not the little fairy type people with wings, but the video game term.  For those of you who don’t know, a sprite is the moving objects in a video game. Up till recently, I’ve never attempted to do something like a sprite before but now I’m diving in head first and finding it both challenging and fun!  I think the challenging part is trying to make sure it looks just as good small, as it does when I’m working on it at a very large size.  This has made me look at coloring differently then I have in the past. Before, when coloring, I never cared much about what the colors were doing at the ‘pixel’ scale. After doing some sprites, I’m coloring almost always at pixel scale. This can be very disorienting at times but I think I’m getting the hang of it and I find that once the picture is at 100% scale, I get a crisper product.

I think I’ll apply this sort of thing in future computer rendered pictures.

Leave a comment